Cards on the table.

I always knew, deep down in the marrow of my bones, that I wanted to be a mom. When I was little I stuffed my Cabbage Patch dolls under my shirts and pretended to be pregnant. I carried my dolls everywhere, pretending to mother them.

I have always known that I wanted to care for a child. It felt like something I was destined to do, destined to fill my life with the family that I built.

I was diagnosed with PCOS and prothrombin mutation (which increases the risk of clotting, and thus miscarriage) when I was 20, by happenstance when I was being treated for other medical issues. I was getting married, not preventing pregnancy, and I wanted to know my odds of having children, given the diagnoses that I’d been given. No answers, options, or referrals, were received. I was blown off by my doctors because, I suppose, they thought I was too young to think about it.

One of the reasons my fiancé left me for another woman was because we had been trying for a year, I wasn’t getting pregnant, our odds of conceiving weren’t looking great, and I barely touched him because I was depressed about it. (He also left me because of the fact that he was a sack of crap. That, too.)

Fast forward a couple years. I met John in 2010 and we fell madly, desperately, fiercely, wholly in love with each other. We didn’t prevent anything. We were both fine with the idea of a baby if it happened, but given my history it seemed unlikely that it would happen or, if it did happen, I wouldn’t miscarry. Without medical help, our chances seemed pretty remote.

In September of 2011, I likely miscarried our baby. There was nothing right about that cycle, my pain, the timing, or the amount of bleeding that occurred. It was unconfirmed by a test, but it was a very highly suspected chemical pregnancy. It hurt like hell.

In February of 2012, John and I broke up because I still wanted a baby and he had changed his mind about wanting one. And then the shittiest year and a half (and counting!) of my life started.

I got depressed. I got angry when a disproportionately large number of the people I know got pregnant and it still, again, always, wasn’t me. I felt like a horrid human being all of the time.

Every happy announcement felt like a slap in the face, and it hurt right where my junky ovaries are, a stabbing pain that wouldn’t go away for hours, the psychosomatic symptom of my depression that certainly didn’t hurt my heart at all. I’d get flares of rage at inconsequential things that someone pregnant would say. Like, if they said that having their children close together in age was going to be difficult. Or that they didn’t get the sex of baby that they wanted. Or that they felt terrible in the heat.

Finally, at someone actually using the word “trigger” with me, it dawned on me that that was what was going on (I am incredibly dim). It never occurred to me that depression has triggers. I’m working on cognitive re-framing in therapy and it’s going really well, we think. There aren’t any more flares of anger, but I do still admit to some frustration, sometimes, at some comments (it’s the best I can do right now and I’m still actively working on it). Having someone say that their children are going to be close together in age is still difficult to hear, especially if they are having two children in the space of time that it took me to try, and fail, to have one.

The fact of the matter is, pregnancy isn’t easy. Having children close in age isn’t easy. Not getting the sex of baby that you hoped for is a disappointment, and heck, I’ve dreamt for years of having a little boy. Being hot, miserable, and sick in the summer isn’t easy, if you are pregnant or not. This all makes logical sense, but it did trigger me in a big way for a long, long while and make me feel jealous and petty and oh so small.

I have felt like a failure a lot this year. I feel like having babies is a basic, biologic test that I am failing at. I feel like a failure as a friend when I get triggered and I get sad and angry and frustrated at a neutral comment that wouldn’t affect other people this way. I feel like my feelings on my infertility aren’t valid because I am not, currently, trying to conceive and because so very many people have it worse and have experienced pain that I can’t even fathom. I feel angry at my body for being broken in this way, for needing help with something that most people find so easy to do.

I know, logically, that my infertility isn’t my fault. I know that I have done nothing to make this happen. This is shit luck with genetics. But the difference between what your head knows and your heart feels is a vast chasm that I cannot currently bridge. I blame myself for the inadequacies of my body. It isn’t fair, or right, but that’s where I am right now.

***

Last week I picked up the phone and made an appointment, despite my fears, anxiety, and my (on some days) crippling depression. On Monday, I have an appointment with a reproductive endocrinologist to see about my chances of having a baby someday, to see about options for protocol, and success rates for woman like me. I am not exactly hopeful. Hope on this subject is no longer something that I can carry.

Monday also happens to be the two year anniversary of my likely miscarriage.

I plan on crying a lot.

***

I feel like I’m making too big a thing about my appointment because I don’t have a partner to stand beside me and support me through whatever news that might come. Having a partner, who you have worked so hard to have children with already and are now going to a fertility clinic with, is a kind of heartache that I can’t even imagine.

But I don’t have a partner. And that’s hard. It’s scary to be carrying this burden alone. It’s scary to worry if my mental health will get worse after the news in my appointment. I have a lot of trouble managing my anxiety about my appointment and how I’m going to feel about the news later. I can’t predict how I’m going to feel about it. I can’t predict how, even if I get relatively good news on the matter, it’s going to affect how I view myself and my long term goals of building a family with someone I love.

***

I plan on doing emotional damage control on Monday by spending time with friends, snuggling a baby, eating cake, watching something mindless on TV, and drinking scotch. And crying. A lot.

I’m scared. Of everything to come. I’m so scared.

7 thoughts on “Cards on the table.

  1. Kammah. Friend. I just want to hug you and eat cake together. Everything you are feeling, your thoughts, your sadness, your stress – it is all so, so valid. Partner or not. Trying or not. Valid. Every last one. I wish I could hold all your thoughts and keep them safe so you don’t fight them into submission. I have similar fears & diagnoses and I just…I symoathize. I love you a ton. Im so proud of you and who you are. Im so happy to know such a true and genuine, lovely person like you.

  2. I wish I had the “right” words to say. Feeling these uncertainties just plain sucks. This is hard, absolutely and I am wishing you everything good. thinking of you and sending all good thoughts and prayers.

  3. I’ve been thinking about you all week!

    The appointments, the tests — they are you being proactive. And that is a very good thing. I think you’re brave for taking this step forward.

    I get so mad when I hear/read about people whose doctors won’t look into issues because they feel like the person is “too young” to worry about things. I’m sorry you weren’t able to get answers when you initally started asking for them. I hope that you start getting them soon though!

    When I was in the midst of my grief after my miscarriage I was desperate to find people who’d been through the same thing because no one I knew in real life really got it. I felt like I needed validation for how I was feeling, especially when people implied that I needed to move on and get over it. I came across this Adoption/Loss/Infertility blog roll: http://www.stirrup-queens.com/a-whole-lot-of-blogging-brought-to-you-sorted-and-filed/ (I thought I’d share since it has helped me.)

    Every now and then I participate in her monthly commenting week and have read blogs about so many people of different walks of life who are struggling with infertility, adoption, loss. Some of them have a partner, some of them are single. Even though I can’t relate to everything you are going through, I do know that what you are feeling is normal, valid, and okay.

    And triggers. Yes! I must be dense too. It wasn’t until I read that paragraph that I realized that there are actual TRIGGERS that bring about anger and sadness about my miscarriage still.

    HUGS Kammah!

  4. Infertility can be isolating, crippling, and extremely depressing…I know this from personal experience. I am really glad you are taking steps to be informed about the state of your fertility because I do believe knowledge is power and when I was in the midst of my battle, every snippet of information, every step I could take helped me feel in control and cope.

    Mostly, I just want to tell you to do whatever you need to get through this (outside of hurting yourself, obviously). Be kind to yourself. All this stuff is hard, so try to find small things to brighten your day. And keep “talking” about it here and on Twitter, because so many can relate to what you are going to and you need support from those who’ve been there or are still in the thick of it so you won’t feel alone.

    Sending you a hug through the internet and all good thoughts for the journey you are on.

Leave a Reply

